A Picture Worth a Thousand Words - by Rolf A. F. Witzsche


The "Appassionato" Sonata

 Rachel Jiménez - pianist


Ludwig van Beethoven Sonata in F minor, Op. 57 "Appassionata"
performed by Rachel Jiménez - pianist (more samples available)

The sonata has three movements:

  1. Allegro assai

  2. Andante con moto - attacca

  3. Allegro ma non troppo - Presto

The sonata is considered one of the three great piano sonatas of Beethoven's middle period (the others being the Waldstein sonata, opus 53 and Les Adieux, Opus 81a). It was composed during 1803, 1804, 1805, and perhaps 1806.


Beethoven in 1803 - by Christian Hornemann


The Appassionato Sonata

Click on the link above to play - right-click to download

(more samples available by  Rachel Jiménez - pianist)

Associated page

Go to the home index of "Pictures Worth a Thousand Words"

Home Page


Published by Cygni Communications Ltd. North Vancouver, BC, Canada -  2010  Rolf A. F. Witzsche

Agape Research

About Cygni

Webmaster Resources